My Dad. Learning from the Very Best

It’s Father’s Day this Sunday, and it therefore seems appropriate to share with you how awesome my dad is. He’s a smart guy. A deep thinker. A bit of a clown. A good looking rooster – a bit like a poor man’s Sean Connery. An all round good bugger. The greatest dad that a bloke like me could ask for, and now a top notch grandfather as well.

Like a lot of impressionable young men, I always saw my dad through rose coloured glasses. He was my idol. He could do no wrong in my eyes. He was someone that I could look up to, and I wanted to mould myself in his image. Pretty standard stuff for most young men really.

It wasn’t until I became a father myself, and experienced the amazing joys and excruciating realities of parenthood first hand that I really began to appreciate just how good a father he really was, and still is.

At face value Dad seemed to be a stereotypical farmer. Staunch, strong as an ox, with dirt under his fingernails and a roll-your-own cigarette permanently hanging off of his bottom lip. His work ethic, even by farming standards was huge. Working daylight to dark (and often beyond) pretty much every day. Scratch a bit deeper beneath the surface though, and you’d find a deep thinker, a sharp wit, a strong emotional intelligence, and a truly excellent and loving father.

I read a parenting tip recently that said that a good dad should always say yes to his kids when he really wants to say no. I’m pretty sure that whoever wrote this had my dad in mind. I remember many times as a kid pleading with him to come and kick the ball or play cricket with me out on the lawn. Tired after long days of toil on the farm, and in desperate need of a steak, a beer and some shuteye, it would’ve been the very last thing that he felt like doing. But he did it anyway. He’d drag his weary body out on to the lawn (usually in his gumboots) and would proceed to play with me like he didn’t have anywhere else that he’d rather be. I’ve only come to really appreciate this since my own son discovered the joys of kicking the footy. More often than not I’ve got plenty of other things that I’d rather be doing. But when my son asks me to come and have a kick, I think about Dad and the countless times he made the effort with me, and I say yes.

Although a bit of a larrikin by nature and reputation, Dad took his parenting role very seriously. He made it his personal mission to ensure that my sister and I were sufficiently thick skinned to bear whatever humiliations life may throw at us. Had embarrassing your kids been an Olympic sport, Dad would’ve taken out the gold for about 16 years running. He had (and still has) an amazing tendency to fall asleep and snore loudly in public settings, including school assemblies, restaurants, 21st birthday parties and, well pretty much everywhere. His Peter Garrett / Joe Cocker hybrid dance moves at weddings and parties are notorious. His highly inappropriate jokes and the raucous laughter (his own) that always follows can always be relied upon at formal occasions. I lost count of the number of times in my teenage years that I prayed for the ground to open and swallow me whole in order to escape my shame. I eventually reached a point however, where I could no longer be embarrassed by him, try as he might. My skin had become too thick. I’ve already started conditioning my kids in the same way. Busting out awkward dad-jokes and horrific dance moves whenever I can, and I’m proud to say that they’re already exhibiting all of the classic symptoms of shamelessness that will put them in good stead in years to come.

Typical of his generation, Dad was never big on the domestic side of things. He didn’t cook. He certainly didn’t clean, and I don’t believe he ever changed a nappy. Despite his lack of domestic prowess, which must’ve driven mum batshit crazy at times, he was always a very hands-on father to us kids. One of the perks of growing up on a farm was that from a very young age I got to go to work with him pretty much every day. Whether it was milking cows, feeding out hay, shifting electric fences, spraying weeds, or just sitting in front of him on the motorbike as we blatted through the wet grass (no helmets of course), I never felt like my presence was an inconvenience to him. He always took the time to answer my annoying questions, and to respond appropriately to my endless cries of “Dad watch this” or “Dad look at me!” Now that I’m a dad myself I can really appreciate how annoying this can be when you’re trying to get shit done, and it’s a real credit to him that he managed to always respond so enthusiastically, without any hint of annoyance or the dripping sarcasm that I usually respond with to my own kids when I’m under the pump.

Despite my current choice of vocation being the polar opposite to his own, and despite it having never actually been said, I know that he is proud of me and respects my decision to be a SAHD. Recently he proudly pointed out to me that as farmers, my father, two grandfathers and four great grandfathers were all working from home dads (WAHDs). And according to him, these farming WAHDs were early trail blazers to the modern SAHD. It’s a pretty long bow to draw, given he still to this day has never even changed a nappy and he would have no idea how to bake a casserole or operate the washing machine. Nevertheless, it did make me take a moment to appreciate how exceptionally lucky I was to grow up having an awesome WAHD like him.

I love you Dad.  Happy Father’s Day.

Postscript – As I sit here, trying to get these final paragraphs out of my head and onto the page, my concentration is interrupted every 90 seconds or so by a cry of “Dad watch this!” followed by the sounds of a footy slamming into the side of the house. I’m tired after several nights of broken sleep. I’ve got a million things to do, and it’s approaching beer o’clock on a Saturday. But I’m about to close my computer, head outside, and kick that footy with my son like it’s the only thing of importance to me right now. Because that’s what my dad would do.

 

Author: Daddingeveryday

I'm a full time Stay at Home Dad based in Perth Western Australia. I'm taking a sabbatical out of the rat race to join the human race for a little while. Daddingeveryday documents some of my experiences, observations, highs and lows as I embark on this new adventure of dadding every day.

3 thoughts on “My Dad. Learning from the Very Best”

Leave a Reply

